Stuart W. Cordell, Partner

Northeast Ohio Business, Corporate and Real Estate Attorney

Stuart heads the firm’s business practice.  He is a respected business lawyer with significant experience in the areas of business formation and operation, mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance, corporate governance, general business law, joint ventures and international licensing.  He also represents business owners and their families concerning individual legal needs in the areas of real estate, estate planning and tax matters.  Over his 30 year career at Warren and Young, Stuart has closed numerous transactions, authored a broad range of commercial agreements and counseled hundreds of businesses, including both profit and nonprofit entities, and many families.  His clients include a variety of manufacturing companies, real estate developers and other commercial enterprises located in Northeast Ohio and across the country.  He has extensive experience representing clients in the reinforced plastics, rubber and chemical industries, as well as in the fields of construction, agriculture, transportation and food service.  He serves as outside general counsel to several of his clients.

Stuart joined Warren and Young in 1983 after spending two years practicing with Baker & Hostetler LLP in Cleveland.  The grandson of Theodore E. Warren, who founded Warren and Young in 1921, Stuart returned to Ashtabula to continue the firm’s tradition of providing high quality legal services begun by his grandfather, and perpetuated by his uncle, E. Terry Warren, who retired from the firm in 1995.  He also carries on their legacy of substantial community involvement, giving liberally of his time to assist local organizations.

A strategic thinker, trusted advisor, creative problem solver and deal maker, Stuart can assist businesses large and small with their legal service needs.  Contact him at or at 440-997-6175 to arrange a consultation.

Bar Admissions

  • Ohio, 1981
  • U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio, 1981


  • J.D., Case Western Reserve University School of Law, 1981
  • A.B., Cornell University, 1978

Awards and Professional Recognition

  • Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory, AV® Preeminent™ rating (since 1995)
  • Ohio Super Lawyer, 2015
  • Kent State University – Ashtabula, Community Service Award, 2009
  • Growth Partnership for Ashtabula County – George H. Kaull Award for Entrepreneurship, 2009
  • Lakeside/Ashtabula/Harbor High School Hall of Fame – 2010

Professional Memberships and Civic Involvement

  • American Bar Association
  • Ohio State Bar Association, Member, Council of Delegates 2003 – present
  • Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association
  • Ashtabula County Bar Association, Member, Board of Trustees 2006 – 2012, President, 2008 – 2009
  • Ohio State Bar Foundation, Member, Board of Trustees 1998 – 2005, President 2004 – 2005
  • Law Foundation of Ashtabula County, Member, Board of Trustees 2008 – present, President, 2008 – present
  • Civic Development Corporation of Ashtabula County (, Member, Board of Trustees 1992 – present, President, 2000 – 2007
  • Growth Partnership for Ashtabula County (, Trustee, 1997 – present
  • Ashtabula County Convention Facilities Authority, Director, Treasurer, 2002 – 2010
  • Fund for Our Economic Future (, Member 2006 – present, Steering Committee, Business Attraction and Retention Task Force, Co-Chair, Ag-Bio Industry Cluster Initiative
  • Team Northeast Ohio (, Director 2009 – 2014
  • Ohio Grantmakers Forum (, Trustee, 2007 – 2011 Chair, Public Policy, Committee Member, Audit and Finance Committee

For Profit Directorships

  • Andover Bancorp, Inc., 2015 – present

Nonprofit Directorships

  • Geneva area Recreational, Educational and Athletic Trust dba SPIRE Institute, Director, 2008 – present, Secretary, 2009 – present
  • New Entrepreneurs Opportunity Fund, Director, 2011 – 2014; Secretary/Treasurer, 2011 – present
  • Robert S. Morrison Foundation, Trustee, 1993 – 2010
  • Richard S. Morrison Foundation, Trustee, 1998 – present
  • Bill and Ruth Mary Service Foundation, Trustee, 2008 – present